Wed, 23 Jun 2021

South Africa 'A' sealed a convincing win over Zimbabwe 'A' by an innings and 166 runs in Harare on Thursday afternoon.

SA 'A' led by Proteas batsman Zubayr Hamza, the tourists claimed a 1-0 lead in the two-match 4-Day series.

Zimbabwe resumed the final day on 22-2 and still required 237 for victory. However, South Africa's pace attack needed just 30.3 overs to claim eight wickets and seal the victory.

Glenton Stuurman (3-18), Daryn Dupavillon (3-28), Migael Pretorius (2-10) and Lutho Sipamla (2-23) made contributions as Zimbabwe were skittled for 93.

Dupavillon finished his match tally to eight following his first innings fiver-for.

On day three, Hamza recorded a career-best unbeaten 222 off 240 balls, which included 28 fours and 3 sixes.

He combined with centurions Sinethemba Qeshile (124*) and Ryan Rickelton (109) to post 603-4 declared in South Africa's first innings, which was in response to the hosts' 344 all out.

The final 4-Day match is scheduled to get underway from 13-16 June in Harare.

South Africa 'A' Four-Day squad:

Dominic Hendricks (Central Gauteng Lions), Eddie Moore (Eastern Province), Zubayr Hamza (Western Province), Raynard van Tonder (Free State), Theunis de Bruyn (Northerns), Senuran Muthusamy (North West), Sinethemba Qeshile (Eastern Province), Miguel Pretorius (Free State), Daryn Dupavillon (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Glenton Stuurman (Eastern Province), Lutho Sipamla (Central Gauteng Lions), Dayyaan Galiem (Northerns), Okuhle Cele (Northerns), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Ryan Rickelton (Central Gauteng Lions), Tshepo Ntuli (Central Gauteng Lions)

Source: News24

Sign up for Nigeria News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!